To Sleep perchance to Dream

To Sleep perchance to Dream
I mentioned last time that I’d spent the day at a local zoo. It was a great day, we got soaked in the rain but the results of the whole day are well worth it.

I took this shot of a Mandrill that was fast asleep in the (temporary) sunshine. It was actually outside and I know the quote is part of Hamlet’s famous soliloquy which begins “To be or not to be”, and it reveals his thoughts of suicide, but it just sparked up my own thought processes…
I retouched the photo so the Mandrill appears to be emerging from inside, then I added the frame and gave him something to rest his chin on.

It’s not just a photo now, it’s what I call Photo Art. It’s something I really enjoy doing and gives me a far stronger memory of this particular day. Just to give you an idea of the transformation this is the original picture.
Sleeping Mandrill

 

It is going to be another addition to the Photo Art section of my website. It’ll be live next week and if you’re interested at all, images like this will be available to purchase as fine art prints.
Hope to see you there soon.

One thought on “To Sleep perchance to Dream

Please leave a reply

